LR pixel

WHY forum family equity?

Succession = Two shops

A professional succession plan consists of two transactions: In the first - and superficial - transaction, you sell a stream of future cash flows to a buyer at a valuation factor; in return, you receive an amount of money. In the second deal, you buy in: the partner who will manage your business in the future and who will decide its future and that of your employees. Many entrepreneurs "forget" this part of succession planning. FORUM is your best partner if you are looking for a balanced package: the best possible "good home" for your company and a fair purchase price.

Three reasons why FORUM is the best choice for your company

Bullet point to show aspects of a career at FORUM in Value Investing and Private Equity jobs.
Principles: permanent - decentralised - entrepreneurial: your company retains its identity
Bullet point to show aspects of a career at FORUM in Value Investing and Private Equity jobs.
Values: we are a family business ourselves: Your family business remains a family business
Bullet point to show aspects of a career at FORUM in Value Investing and Private Equity jobs.
Sector expertise: we are one of the largest and most experienced investors in Germany in each ofour focus sectors : software, water & fluid management and healthcare. In addition, we have experience with listed companies in this sector - we learn from the best in the industry.

Three types of buyers from medium-sized companies

Image of high-rise buildings to illustrate Group Office

Sale to Group

Groups buy to integrate. In your case, the focus is on synergies.

After the takeover, central functions and processes of the group are transferred to your company, so decisions are made more slowly. After some time, it is completely unclear whether responsibility lies "above or below" and many good employees leave the company in frustration.

After a few years, your company is then completely integrated into the group.

Image of family office family equity to show friendliness in company purchase

SALE TO FAMILY OFFICE

Family offices like FORUM buy companies to preserve and increase a family's wealth for the next generation. Most family offices do not sell at all. This gives your life's work a safe haven.

Family offices think long-term, so they invest to secure the future, i.e., employees, innovations and sustainability.

And they mostly operate on handshake quality - based on old merchant virtues.

A green grasshopper sits in the middle of the picture on a wheat bud. The locust here symbolizes the exploitation of the company by the classic private equity funds.

Sale to private equity

Private equity funds are constructed as funds with a limited term and therefore have to turn over their investments every 3 - 5 years: they buy to sell more expensively - preferably with a lot of debt.

In this respect, your company is prepared for sale from the moment of purchase: Cost reductions and renouncing investments with a long payback are typical developments. The financiers become dominant in the corporate culture.

Genuine and non-genuine family offices

The family offices we are talking about here have a single family in the background - that is why they are also referred to as "single family offices". In addition, there are "non-genuine family offices", which are, for example,

a) asset managers who manage the assets of many clients or families. In these constellations, liquidation of the investment is almost always preprogrammed in a few years.

b) Private equity funds that have families as investors. They are private equity funds - with all the characteristics we have described above. Investment bankers - like the gentleman on the right - call the shots.

Letter from warren Buffet to UNternhemer
Hedge fund manager as an example of a "fake" private equity family office

COMMENTS from previous sellers

Edgar Schall from Edgar Schall Group

"I chose FORUM as the acquirer because I liked the handshake mentality as well as the very fast binding and reliable way of working of Dr. Wittek. I expect FORUM to continue my life's work profitably together with my employees, who have been loyal to me for many years.

Edgar Schall / Founder of Edgar Schall GmbH
Ralf Pogoda on the takeover of Pulsation

"We deliberately chose FORUM because it allows us to work consistently on our products and further expand our growth. Reliability and continuity have the highest priority. By joining the group, we will achieve our ambitious goals - together, together and with new strength."

Ralf Pogoda / FOUNDER OF Pulsation
David Thaler from Mednet GmbH

"I looked at several alternatives, but Forum Family Office is without doubt the best option for MedNet. On the one hand, MedNet can keep its unique spirit and character. On the other hand, MedNet gets the security and growth potential of a strong group with the possibility to think and plan for the long term. “

DAVID THALER / FOUNDER OF MEDNET GMBH

Interested? Contact us here!

Zwei Mitarbeiter die sich die Hände schütteln nach übernahme

WARUM forum family equity?

Nachfolgeregelung = Zwei Geschäfte

Eine professionelle Nachfolgeregelung besteht aus zwei Geschäften: Im ersten - und vordergründigen - Geschäft verkaufen Sie einen Strom zukünftiger Cash Flow zu einem Bewertungsfaktor an einen Käufer, dafür erhalten Sie einen Geldbetrag. Im zweiten Geschäft kaufen Sie ein: den Partner, der Ihr Unternehmen in Zukunft betreut und über dessen Zukunft und die Ihrer Mitarbeiter entscheidet. Viele Unternehmer "vergessen" diesen Teil der Nachfolgeregelung. FORUM ist nur Ihr bester Partner, wenn Sie ein ausgewogenes Paket suchen: das bestmögliche "good home" für Ihr Unternehmen und einen fairen Kaufpreis.

Drei Gründe, Warum Ihr Unternehmen bei FORUM Am Besten aufgehoben ist

Bulletpoint um Aspekte der Karriere bei FORUM zu zeigen bei Jobs in Value Investing und Private Equity
Grundsätze: permanent - dezentral - unternehmerisch: Ihr Unternehmen behält seine Identität
Bulletpoint um Aspekte der Karriere bei FORUM zu zeigen bei Jobs in Value Investing und Private Equity
Werte: wir sind selbst ein Familienunternehmen: Ihr Familienunternehmen bleibt ein Familienunternehmen
Bulletpoint um Aspekte der Karriere bei FORUM zu zeigen bei Jobs in Value Investing und Private Equity
Branchen-Expertise: in unseren Fokus-Branchen Software, Wasser & Fluid Management und Gesundheitswesen sind wir jeweils einer der größten und erfahrensten Investoren in Deutschland. Dazu kommt unsere Erfahrung mit börsennotierten Unternehmen in diesem Bereich - wir lernen von den Besten der Branche.

Drei Käufer-Typen von mittelständischen Unternehmen

Bild von Hochhäusern um Konzern Office zu veranschaulichen

Verkauf an Konzern

Konzerne kaufen, um zu intergrieren. Bei Ihnen stehen die Synergien im Vordergrund.

Nach der Übernahme werden zentrale Funktionen und Prozesse des Konzern auf Ihre Firma übertragen, damit fallen Entscheidungen langsamer. Nach einiger Zeit ist völlig unklar, ob die Verantwortung "oben oder unten" liegt und viele gute Mitarbeiter verlassen frustriert das Unternehmen.

Nach einigen Jahren ist Ihr Unternehmen dann komplett in den Konzern integriert.

Bild von Family Office Family Equity um Freundschaftlichkeit beim Unternehmenskauf zu zeigen

VERKAUF AN FAMILY OFFICE

Family Offices wie FORUM kaufen Unternehmen, um das Vermögen einer Familie für die nächste Generation zu erhalten und zu mehren. Die meisten Family Offices verkaufen gar nicht. Damit hat Ihr Lebenswerk einen sicheren Hafen.

Family Offices denken langfristig, daher investieren sie in die Zukunftssicherung, d.h., Mitarbeiter, Innovationen und Nachhaltigkeit.

Und sie operieren meist auf Handschlags-Qualität - auf Basis von alten Kaufmanns-Tugenden.

Bild von Heuschrecke um ausbeutung von private equity zu zeigen

Verkauf an Private Equity

Private Equity-Fonds sind als Fonds mit begrenzter Laufzeit konstruiert und müssen daher ihre Investments alle 3 - 5 Jahre umschlagen: Sie kaufen um, teurer zu verkaufen - am liebsten mit vielen Schulden.

Insofern wird Ihr Unternehmen ab dem Kauf auf den Verkauf vorbereitet: Kostensenkungen und Verzicht auf Invest mit langem Payback sind typische Entwicklungen. In der Unternehmenskultur werden die Finanzer dominierend.

Echte und Unechte Family Offices

Die Family Offices, über die wir hier sprechen, haben eine einzige Familie im Hintergrund - darum werden Sie auch als "Single Family Offices" gezeichnet. Daneben gibt es "unechte Family Offices", das sind z.B.

a) Vermögensverwalter, die das Vermögen vieler Kunden bzw. Familien verwalten. In diesen Konstellationen ist fast immer eine Liquidation des Investments in einigen Jahren vorprogrammiert.

b) Private Equity Funds, die Familien als Investoren haben. Sie sind Private Equity Fonds - mit allen Charakteristika, die wir oben dargestellt haben. Das Sagen haben Investment Banker - wie der Herr rechts.

Weitere Gedanken zur Wahl des richtigen Käufer-Typs finden Sie in einem Brief an einen Unternehmer, den wir vor einigen Jahren geschrieben haben – er ist unverändert gültig.

Brief HerunterlaDen
Hedgefond Manager als beispiel eines "unechten" Family Offices von Private Equity
Forum Family Office Burkhard Wittek am Tisch mit einer Private Equity Beteiligung bei einer Besprechung

KOMMENTARE früherer Verkäufer

Edgar Schall von Edgar Schall Group

„Ich habe mich für FORUM als Erwerber entschieden, weil mir die Handschlagmentalität sowie die sehr schnelle verbindliche und zuverlässige Arbeitsweise von Herrn Dr. Wittek gefallen hat. Ich erwarte mir von FORUM, dass mein Lebenswerk gemeinsam mit meinen Mitarbeitern, die mir jahrelang die Treue gehalten haben, profitabel fortgeführt wird“.

Edgar Schall / Gründer von Edgar Schall GmbH
Ralf Pogoda bei Übernahme von Pulsation

„Wir haben uns bewusst für FORUM entschieden, weil wir dadurch beständig an unseren Produkten arbeiten und unser Wachstum weiter ausbauen können. Verlässlichkeit und Kontinuität haben die höchste Priorität.  Durch den Anschluss an die Gruppe werden wir unsere ambitionierten Ziele erreichen - gemeinsam, zusammen und mit neuer Stärke."

Ralf Pogoda / GRÜNDER VON Pulsation
David Thaler von Mednet GmbH

"Ich habe mir mehrere Alternativen angesehen, aber Forum Family Office ist ohne Zweifel die beste Option für MedNet. Einerseits kann MedNet seinen einzigartigen Geist und Charakter bewahren. Auf der anderen Seite bekommt MedNet das Sicherheits- und Wachstumspotenzial einer starken Gruppe mit der Möglichkeit, langfristig zu denken und zu planen. “

DAVID THALER / GRÜNDER VON MEDNET GMBH

Interessiert? Kontaktieren sie uns hier!